PayPal Summer Games

Campaign
PayPal Summer Games
 

The PayPal Summer Games ring in summer on Facebook – with influencers, trending topics and live games that are both entertaining and promote community interaction. Its “social media first” entertainment concept developed by Scholz & Friends was already trialled in the highly successful sister event, PayPal Xmas Games. The Christmas campaign achieved a reach of over 29 million.

PayPal Summer Games

Six weeks long, the PayPal Summer Games get people raring to go for summer and inspire the community to roll the dice and play along. Every Thursday from 4:30 p.m., hosts Vreni Frost and Tarik Tesfu invite viewers to tune in to a 30- to 45-minute live show on the PayPal Germany Facebook page. The show is packed with games, table talk, exciting guests and all kinds of life hacks for summer. The PayPal product world plays a role throughout: via live games and conversations with the hosts the show illustrates how simple PayPal P2P features like moneypool or sending money directly are and how essential for summer activities – like planning parties with friends.

Influencers as hosts

Vreni Frost has been hosting an own blog for nearly ten years that features lifestyle elements as well as sustainability content and social and societal topics. She has over 51k Instagram followers. Tarik Tesfu is a creator of YouTube content, among other things. His focus is primarily on societal and political themes, for instance addressing topics like racism and gender issues. Both personalities are thus well suited to the overall social media concept developed for PayPal by the Berlin agency, in which diversity, authenticity and inclusion play a central role.

Live show no. 1: ‘City experiences’

The first live show, held on Thursday, 13 June, was dedicated to the topic of ‘city experiences’ and was streamed from a suitably quirky Berlin rooftop terrace. In between the entertaining chat segments from hosts Vreni and Tarik, viewers had the opportunity to win PayPal credit in three different games. Who can guess what summer situation the emoji codes are depicting? And who can correctly predict which ice lolly will melt the slowest in the glaring summer sun to become the “last ice standing”? In the Rapid Summer lightening round the goal was to answer as quickly as possible all kinds of quiz questions about PayPal’s benefits. Viewers could participate easily simply by using the live stream’s comment function. Assessment of comments and announcement of the winners occurred within seconds thanks to the production team in the background.

Credits

Social media management: Mihai Zamfirescu (Social Media Director), Jana Huth (Account Director), Rosanna Collier, Julia Fröde, Malaika Ewald, Louise Stodtko, Mabinty Gbla, Kevin Hümmer

Art direction: Roberto Piazza, Roberto Vitiello

Motion design: Christoph Henschel, Bennet Kammel

Event management: Nikola Schütze, Henning Vana

Production: Benito Schumacher, Lina Hinze

Metagate: Alexander Siewert, Fabian Behrendt

Video-Content Agency: Red Pinata

Moderation: Vreni Frost, Tarik Tesfu

Other News

Scholz & Friends is best German Agency at London International Awards

13. November 2019

Scholz & Friends wins 11 trophies at the London International Awards 2019 and is the best German agency: 4x Gold, 4x Silver, 3x Bronze, 5x Finalist. Scholz & Friends was also the best German agency at the Cannes Lions 2019 and the Clio 2019.

read more

Huge triumph for The Tampon Book at Clio Awards 2019

11. September 2019

The jury at this year’s Clio Awards gave the Tampon Book by Scholz & Friends and The Female Company five gold awards, three silver awards and shortlisted it. No other campaigns in the world came away with more gold and silver awards at Clio 2019.

read more

Cannes Lions 2019 – Best German Agency

19. June 2019

Scholz & Friends secured the top position in a ranking of the best Germany agencies at Cannes Lions. With nine Lions plus 17 shortlist places and thus a total of 36 points, the agency finished the festival week leagues ahead of the pack. As a particular highlight, the agency’s The Tampon Booknabbed the first Grand Prix in the PR category for Germany in the history of the festival.

read more

Die PayPal Summer Games

Kampagne
Die PayPal Summer Games
 

Die PayPal Summer Games läuten auf Facebook den Sommer ein – mit Influencern, angesagten Themen und Live Games, die die Interaktion der Community fordern und Spaß machen. Das Social First Entertainment Konzept von Scholz & Friends wurde mit den PayPal Xmas Games in ähnlicher Form bereits mit großem Erfolg erprobt. Die Weihnachtskampagne hatte eine Reichweite von über 29 Millionen.

PayPal Summer Games

Sechs Wochen lang machen die PayPal Summer Games Lust auf Sommer und regen die Community zum Knobeln und Mitmachen an. Jeden Donnerstag ab 16.30 Uhr laden die Hosts Vreni Frost und Tarik Tesfu die Zuschauer zu 30 – 45 Minuten Live-Show auf der PayPal Deutschland Facebook-Seite voller Games und Table Talks, spannender Gäste und Summer-Lifehacks ein. Die Produktwelt von PayPal ist dabei immer präsent: Über Live-Spiele und Gespräche der Hosts wird aufgezeigt, wie einfach und unverzichtbar PayPal P2P-Features, z. B. der Moneypool oder das direkte Senden von Geld, für sommerliche Aktivitäten, wie die Planung von Ferien mit Freunden, sind.

Influencer als Gastgeber

Vreni Frost betreibt seit knapp zehn Jahren ihren eignen Blog zu Lifestyle, Nachhaltigkeit sowie sozial- und gesellschaftskritischen Themen. Ihr folgen auf Instagram über 51k Abonent*innen. Tarik Tesfu ist als Content Creator unter anderem auf YouTube aktiv. Er konzentriert sich auf gesellschaftskritische und politische Themen und spricht beispielsweise über Rassismus und Genderfragen. Die beiden Persönlichkeiten passen damit gut zum gesamten Social Media Konzept, das die Berliner Agentur für PayPal entwickelt hat. Darin spielen Diversity, Authentizität und Inklusion eine zentrale Rolle.

Live-Show Nr. 1: City Experiences

Die erste Live-Show am Donnerstag, 13. Juni stand unter dem Thema „City Experiences” und wurde passend von einer Berliner Dachterrasse mit bunter Kulisse gestreamt. Zwischen den kurzweiligen Konversationen der Hosts Vreni und Tarik hatten die Zuschauer*innen bei drei Games die Möglichkeit, PayPal-Guthaben zu gewinnen. Wer errät die sommerliche Situation, die allein durch Emoji-Codes dargestellt ist? Und wer ahnt voraus, welches Stieleis in der brennenden Sommersonne am langsamsten schmilzt und das „Last Eis Standing“ sein wird? In der Rapid Summer Round ging es um Schnelligkeit beim Beantworten von Quizfragen rund um PayPay-Benefits. Die Teilnahme ist einfach über die Kommentarfunktion der Live-Übertragung möglich. Die Auswertung und Bekanntgabe der Gewinner*innen erfolgt innerhalb von Sekunden durch die Regie im Hintergrund.

Credits

Social Media Management: Mihai Zamfirescu (Social Media Director), Jana Huth (Account Director), Rosanna Collier, Julia Fröde, Malaika Ewald, Louise Stodtko, Mabinty Gbla, Kevin Hümmer

Art Direction: Roberto Piazza, Roberto Vitiello, Christoph Henschel, Bennet Kammel

Event Management: Nikola Schütze, Henning Vana

Produktion: Benito Schumacher, Lina Hinze

Metagate: Alexander Siewert, Fabian Behrendt

Filmproduktion: Red Pinata

Moderation: Vreni Frost, Tarik Tesfu

Weitere News

Thomas Dempewolf wird Head of Digital Creative

6. Juni 2019

Thomas Dempewolf wechselt zum Juni zu Scholz & Friends Hamburg. Als Head of Digital Creative soll er das digitale Profil der Agentur schärfen und innovative, technologie-getriebene Ideen für die Kunden des Hamburger Agenturstandorts entwickeln. Thomas Dempewolf berichtet an die Geschäftsführer Kreation von Scholz & Friends Hamburg, Tobias Ahrens und Markus Daubenbüchel.

Weiterlesen

toom und Scholz & Friends erfinden das „Belohnbier“

29. Mai 2019

„Respekt, wer’s selber macht.“, heißt es seit vier Jahren bei toom – aber wie zollt ein Baumarkt eigentlich richtig Respekt? Das haben sich die Stamm-Agentur Scholz & Friends und toom auch gefragt und liefern jetzt die einfache, wie geniale Produktidee: Das Belohnbier. Das gibt es pünktlich zum Vatertag in allen toom-Baumärkten zu kaufen.

Weiterlesen

ADC 2019: 27 Nägel und Platz 3 im Gesamtranking

27. Mai 2019

Mit 4x Gold, 7x Silber, 16x Bronze und 22 Auszeichnungen schafft es Scholz & Friends auf Platz 3 im Gesamtranking des ADC 2019. Eine der erfolgreichsten Kampagnen des ADC war die „UmOrdnung“ für die Berliner Philharmoniker. Mit 4x Gold und 5x Silber belegt sie Platz 2 der bestdotierten Kampagnen 2019.

Weiterlesen