La Table Suisse

The Vegetarierbund vegetarians’ association provokes heated discussions through a fictitious restaurant that serves pets for dinner

La Table Suisse
 

Worldwide, more than 60 billion livestock animals are killed every year for human consumption. Even people who consider themselves animal-friendly consume meat and in doing so deny the simple fact that eating meat kills animals. The goal of the Vegetarierbund Deutschland and the network Beyond Carnism was thus to sensitise people to their hypocritical stance with respect to animals and inspire them to rethink their choices.

 

A restaurant that serves pets for dinner

The consumption of dog and cat meat has a long tradition in Switzerland. Thus, we opened the first Swiss restaurant that has dishes using dog and cat meat on the menu: La Table Suisse.

The heart of the campaign was a PR film featuring a young chef presenting his daily work. Speciality of the house is a fresh interpretation of one of his grandmother’s recipes: the “Büsirücken” – cat loin roast.

The film aired on YouTube and linked to the restaurant’s homepage, where users could read about their philosophy and La Table’s menu or even make a reservation. The restaurant had a Facebook page as well. On Facebook, the chef reported on recent news and responded to questions asked by the annoyed and offended online community. What no one could have guessed is that La Table only existed on the Internet. The linking of the film to additional digital profiles was enough to make the restaurant appear to be real.

Influencers choosing the vegetarian lifestyle such as Moby and Miley Cyrus helped to spread the video online – and people were shocked. Within just a few days, the restaurant’s Facebook page was inundated with comments. In addition to comments solely expressing shock or hatred, a heated discussion developed on the central question of why the majority of people find it a matter of course to eat livestock but the mere existence of a restaurant that has pets on the menu incites such an outcry.

When the outrage had reached its apex, we let the cat out of the bag: La Table Suisse never actually existed. The former URL of the restaurant homepage now led to a page announcing that the Vegetarierbund Deutschland and Beyond Carnism were behind the campaign.

International awareness – without pointing fingers

Media in 25 countries reported on the “pet meat restaurant” and international animal rights organisations praised the project. In total, the campaign reached ten million people on four continents – and thus also its main objective. We communicated our message without pointing fingers while nevertheless highlighting it through radical measures. Particularly in the era of the online shitstorm, this was an especially courageous campaign. The fact that the restaurant was staged to look convincingly real online and that it captured people’s attention over a longer period of time made sure that Vebu was in international spotlight for much longer than just the moment of surprise revelation.

La Table Suisse

Mit einem erfundenen Restaurant, das Haustiere auf der Speisekarte hat, provoziert der Vegetarierbund eine hitzige Diskussion

La Table Suisse
 

Mit einem erfundenen Restaurant, das Haustiere auf der Speisekarte hat, provoziert der Vegetarierbund eine hitzige Diskussion im Netz

Weltweit werden jährlich über 60 Milliarden Nutztiere für den Verzehr getötet. Selbst Menschen, die sich selbst als Tierfreunde bezeichnen würden, konsumieren Fleisch und leugnen damit eine simple Tatsache: Fleischessen heißt Tiere töten. Ziel des Vegetarierbunds Deutschland und des Netzwerks Beyond Carnism war es deshalb, Menschen für ihr widersprüchliches Verhalten gegenüber Tieren zu sensibilisieren und zum Umdenken zu bewegen.

 

Ein Restaurant mit Haustieren auf der Speisekarte

Der Verzehr von Hunde- und Katzenfleisch hat in der Schweiz eine lange Tradition. Also eröffneten wir das erste Schweizer Restaurant, das Katzen- und Hundefleischgerichte auf der Karte anbot: „La Table Suisse.“

Das Herz der Kampagne war ein Imagefilm, in dem ein junger Schweizer Koch sich und seine Arbeit vorstellt. Spezialität des Hauses ist die Neuinterpretation eines Rezeptes seiner Großmutter: Der „Büsirücken“ – Katzenrücken.

Der Film wurde auf YouTube geschaltet und verwies auf die Restauranthomepage, auf der man sich über die Philosophie sowie das Menü von La Table informieren und sogar einen Platz reservieren konnte. Auch auf Facebook war das Restaurant vertreten. Hier berichtete der Koch über aktuelle Neuigkeiten und stellte sich den Fragen der irritierten und empörten Netzgemeinde. Denn was niemand wissen konnte: La Table existierte nur im Internet. Die Verknüpfung des Films mit weiteren digitalen Auftritten genügte, um das Restaurant real erscheinen zu lassen.

Vegetarisch lebende Influencer wie Moby und Miley Cyrus halfen uns, das Video im Netz zu verbreiten – die Menschen waren schockiert. Binnen weniger Tage wurde die Facebookseite des Restaurants mit Kommentaren überflutet. Neben reinen Schock- und Hassäußerungen entspann sich eine hitzige Diskussion um die entscheidende Frage: Warum hält die Mehrheit der Menschen es für selbstverständlich, Nutztiere zu verspeisen, während die pure Existenz eines Restaurants mit Haustieren auf der Speisekarte einen solchen Aufschrei auslöst?

Als die Empörung ihren Höhepunkt erreicht hatte, ließen wir die Katze aus dem Sack: La Table Suisse hatte es nie gegeben. Die frühere URL der Restaurant-Homepage führte nun zu einer Seite, auf der der Vegetarierbund Deutschland und Beyond Carnism sich zu der Aktion bekannten.

 

Internationale Aufmerksamkeit – ohne erhobenen Zeigefinger

In 25 Ländern berichteten die Medien über das „Haustierrestaurant“, internationale Tierschutzorganisationen lobten das Projekt. Insgesamt wurden mit der Aktion zehn Millionen Menschen auf vier Kontinenten – und damit auch das Ziel unserer Kampagne – erreicht. Wir haben den Menschen unsere Botschaft ohne erhobenen Zeigefinger und dennoch mit drastischen Mitteln vermittelt. Das macht diese Aktion, gerade in Zeiten von Online-Shitstorms,  zu einer mutigen Kampagne. Die Tatsache, dass wir das Restaurant im Internet täuschend echt inszeniert haben und die Menschen so über einen längeren Zeitraum in Atem hielten, sicherte dem Vebu nicht erst zum Zeitpunkt der Auflösung international Aufmerksamkeit.