The story of the most successful football player of all time

Campaign
The story of the most successful football player of all time
 

In an ambitious short film project entitled “A Boy From San Mateo” for the Swiss luxury watch manufacturer IWC Schaffhausen, Scholz & Friends tells the inspiring story of the most successful football player of all time: US superstar Tom Brady.

 

The film, which was produced in collaboration with Danish director Rune Milton, takes the viewer on a cinematic journey through some of the most important milestones in Brady’s career. From his humble beginnings as a young boy with a big dream in his hometown of San Mateo, California, through stints at the University of Michigan and to the top of the National Football League: it’s a path marked by a will to succeed, no matter what obstacles and obstacles Tom Brady had to overcome.

Robert Krause, Managing Director at Scholz & Friends speaks about the objectives of the brand campaign: “With the campaign we want to inspire our client’s target group – especially in these difficult times – and encourage them to follow their own dreams. Faith in oneself, assertiveness against all odds and hard work on the road to success… A spirit that is also deeply rooted in the IWC brand since it was founded over 150 years ago by an American watchmaker from Boston.”

“We deliberately designed the film to be trailer-like with a fast narrative style to ensure the best possible development in the digital environment. Right from the start, we wanted to create a work that would emotionally bind the viewer in a way that only Netflix and Co. can,” explains Jörg Waschescio, Creative Director and Unit Lead at Scholz & Friends.

With more than 10 days of shooting in total, at locations in Bucharest, Boston, Salt Lake City and Schaffhausen, “Born of a Dream” is one of the most elaborate film productions that Scholz & Friends has produced to date.  The short film “A Boy From San Mateo” is just the start of the brand campaign for IWC Schaffhausen. Further cinematic highlights will be launched in the coming months on the “Born of a Dream” content platform at www.iwc.com.

 

 

CREDITS

Scholz & Friends
Managing Director: Robert Krause
Group Creative Director: Jörg Waschescio
International Account Director: Janin Brauer
Creatives: Leonardo Valadao, Nathalie Poets, Alannah Stritch
Account Management: Janice Kretschmer
FFF: David Voss, Daniel Klessig, Jan Lagowski, Thomas Griesbach
Art Buying: Kerstin Mende

IWC Schaffhausen
Chief Marketing Officer: Franziska Gsell
Head of Advertising, Media & Digital: Maurice Moitroux
Strategic Brand Planner: Tom Scheuring
Project Manager: Caroline Spoerry
Producer: Daniela Berther

Production
who’s mcqueen picture, Zürich

Director: Rune Milton Olsen
DOP: Paul Meyers
Executive Producer: Clemens Petersson
Producer: Niels Kau
Editor: Adam Nielsen, Emil Gundersen
Post Production: Copenhagen Visual Effects, Mikael Balle, Alexander Schepelern
Sound Design: Kevin Koch
Music: Jonas Larsen & Anders Vesterdahl

Other News

Scholz & Friends makes the artistic energy of the Berliner Philharmoniker visible

21. April 2020

Pure joy in playing visibly permeates the newly presented preview of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s 2020/21 season. The visual concept for this year’s imagery as developed by Scholz & Friends features heat sensor images of the instruments played by the ensemble’s musicians.

read more

#WirBleibenZuhause: Scholz & Friends communicates the coronavirus crisis on behalf of the German Federal Ministry of Health

15. April 2020

Since the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic, the German Federal Ministry of Health has been advocating for protective measures and educating the public via a nationwide mobilisation and information campaign. In just a few days, the communication marked with the hashtag #wirbleibenzuhause (we’re staying home) successfully reached an audience of billions and garnered unparalleled support.

read more

A new Look for Scholz & Friends

27. February 2020

As part of its new strategic orientation, Scholz & Friends is today officially presenting its new corporate design. In addition to a modern look and feel, the agency’s new logo sets new digital accents as well. The creative linking of all elements of the agency name within the logo enhances international recognisability of the Scholz & Friends brand and ensures a striking visual impression online.

read more

Die Geschichte des erfolgreichsten Footballspielers aller Zeiten

Kampagne
Die Geschichte des erfolgreichsten Footballspielers aller Zeiten
 

In einem ambitionierten Kurzfilmprojekt mit dem Titel „A Boy From San Mateo“ für den Schweizer Luxusuhrenhersteller IWC Schaffhausen erzählt Scholz & Friends die inspirierende Geschichte des erfolgreichsten Footballspielers aller Zeiten: US Superstar Tom Brady.

 

Der Film, der in Zusammenarbeit mit dem dänischen Regisseur Rune Milton entstanden ist, nimmt den Zuschauer mit auf eine cineastische Reise zu einigen der wichtigsten Meilensteine in Bradys Karriere. Von seinen bescheidenen Anfängen als kleiner Junge mit einem großen Traum in seiner Heimatstadt San Mateo, Kalifornien über Stationen an der Universität von Michigan bis an die Spitze der National Football League. Ein Weg, der vom Willen auf Erfolg gekennzeichnet ist, egal welche Widerstände und Hindernisse Tom Brady dabei bewältigen musste.

Robert Krause, Managing Director bei Scholz & Friends über die Zielsetzung der Markenkampagne:  „Mit der Kampagne wollen wir die Zielgruppe unseres Kunden – gerade in diesen schwierigen Zeiten – begeistern und ermutigen ihren eigenen Träumen zu folgen. Der Glaube an sich selbst, Durchsetzungskraft gegen alle Widerstände und harte Arbeit auf dem Weg zum Erfolg. Ein Spirit, der auch tief in der Marke IWC verwurzelt ist, seit sie vor über 150 Jahren von einem amerikanischen Uhrmacher aus Boston gegründet wurde. “

„Wir haben den Film sehr bewusst Trailer-artig und in einer schnellen Erzählweise konzipiert, um für bestmögliche Entfaltung im digitalen Umfeld zu sorgen. Wir wollten von Anfang an ein Werk schaffen, das den Zuschauer emotional so bindet, wie es sonst nur Netflix und Co schaffen“, erklärt Jörg Waschescio, Creative Director und Unit Lead bei Scholz & Friends.

Mit insgesamt über 10 Drehtagen an Locations in Bukarest, Boston, Salt Lake City und in Schaffhausen ist „Born of a Dream“ eine der aufwendigsten Filmproduktionen, die Scholz & Friends bis heute realisiert hat.  Der Kurzfilm „A Boy From San Mateo“ ist dabei nur der Auftakt der Markenkampagne für IWC Schaffhausen. Weitere cineastische Highlights werden in den kommenden Monaten auf der Content-Plattform „Born of a Dream“ auf www.iwc.com gelauncht.

 

CREDITS

Scholz & Friends
Managing Director: Robert Krause
Group Creative Director: Jörg Waschescio
International Account Director: Janin Brauer
Creatives: Leonardo Valadao, Nathalie Poets, Alannah Stritch
Account Management: Janice Kretschmer
FFF: David Voss, Daniel Klessig, Jan Lagowski, Thomas Griesbach
Art Buying: Kerstin Mende

IWC Schaffhausen
Chief Marketing Officer: Franziska Gsell
Head of Advertising, Media & Digital: Maurice Moitroux
Strategic Brand Planner: Tom Scheuring
Project Manager: Caroline Spoerry
Producer: Daniela Berther

Production
who’s mcqueen picture, Zürich

Director: Rune Milton Olsen
DOP: Paul Meyers
Executive Producer: Clemens Petersson
Producer: Niels Kau
Editor: Adam Nielsen, Emil Gundersen
Post Production: Copenhagen Visual Effects, Mikael Balle, Alexander Schepelern
Sound Design: Kevin Koch
Music: Jonas Larsen & Anders Vesterdahl

Weitere News

Scholz & Friends beruft Catherine Gaudry ins Partnerboard

5. August 2020

Catherine Gaudry, Head of Talent and Transformation und Managing Director International Business, wird Mitglied des Partnerboards der Scholz & Friends Group.
Im höchsten Führungsgremium der Agentur übernimmt sie die Verantwortung für den Bereich „Diversity, Equity & Inclusion“ („DEI“). Damit ist Scholz & Friends die erste Agenturgruppe in Deutschland, die für die Themen Vielfalt, Gleichstellung und Inklusion eine eigene Position auf der obersten Managementebene schafft.

Weiterlesen

Scholz & Friends beruft Christiane Stöhr ins Partnerboard

5. August 2020

Christiane Stöhr, Business Director der erfolgreichen Corporate Responsiblity-Beratung Scholz & Friends Reputation, vertritt ab dem 1. September die Nachhaltigkeitsexpertise im Scholz & Friends Partnerboard.
Als Mitglied des höchsten Führungsgremiums der Scholz & Friends Group soll Christiane Stöhr das Beratungsangebot der Agenturgruppe in Zeiten der nachhaltigen Transformation von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft weiterentwickeln.

Weiterlesen

Nele Schnieder wird Geschäftsführerin bei Scholz & Friends in Berlin

5. August 2020

Die Geschäftsführung des größten Standorts von Scholz & Friends in Berlin erweitert ihr Team, um den zentralen Themen Personal und Entwicklung noch mehr Raum zu geben. Zum 1. September wird Nele Schnieder, Group Director People & Culture bei Scholz & Friends, zur Geschäftsführerin von Scholz & Friends Berlin berufen.

Weiterlesen